Sat 11 Sep


£16.80The price you'll pay. No surprises later.
DICE protects fans and artists from touts. We’re a mobile app for iOS and Android. Tickets will be securely stored on your phone.

The James McVinnie Ensemble is a collective of virtuoso keyboardists from London specialising in new music. We are excited to welcome them for this special programme showcasing the work of three American composers, Gabriella Smith, Philip Glass and John Adams. Gabriella Smith's music is 'high-voltage and wildly imaginative' (Philadelphia Inquirer), and 'the coolest, most exciting, most inventive new voice I've heard in ages' (Musical America). The centrepiece to the programme is Philip Glass’s ‘Two Pages’, one of the seminal foundations of American minimalism, and culminates in John Adams’ magnificent ‘Hallelujah Junction’, a masterwork for two pianos in three parts first performed at the Getty Museum in Los Angeles in 1998.

James McVinnie’s work as a performer encompasses music from the 16th century to the present day. His boundless approach to music making has lead him to collaborations with many leading figures in music including Philip Glass, Tom Jenkinson/Squarepusher, Angelique Kidjo, Nico Muhly, Martin Creed, David Lang, Richard Reed Parry, Bryce Dessner & Darkstar, many of whom have written large scale works for him. He has released music on Bedroom Community, Orange Mountain Music and Warp Records.

In 2021/22 McVinnie will give the first performances of an hour long work for organ and 1bit electronics written for him by Tristan Perich and a new organ concerto written for him by Gabriella Smith with the Los Angeles Philharmonic under Esa-Pekka Salonen as well as solo appearances in France, Hidden Notes Festival and BBC Proms.

Presented by Bold Tendencies.

This is an all ages event.

Line up

Doors open6:00 PM

related events