Wed 18th Sep


The price you'll pay. No surprises later.
DICE protects fans and artists from touts. We’re a mobile app for iOS and Android. Tickets will be securely stored on your phone.

American composer and saxophonist Rob Reddy emerged on the New York Jazz/New Music scene in the late 1980s. While remaining always contemporary, his innovative composing is rooted in the American folk forms ((blues, gospel, Appalachian, marching band, Jazz). He weaves together the sounds and rhythms of his predecessors with those of the present moment to create his own new American Music. His recordings and working ensembles have consistently drawn on a pool of musicians whose sounds and strengths have become an essential part of presenting his music. This current premiere of new music for octet is no exception. For this performance Reddy will be joined by long time collaborators Charlie Burnham (violin), John Carlson (trumpet), Brandon Ross (guitars), Dom Richards (double bass) and Pheeroan akLaff (drums), as well two newer collaborators Curtis Fowlkes (trombone) and James Brandon Lewis (tenor saxophone). He is currently developing INTERRUPTION!, a cross-genre performance piece for large ensemble, spoken word artist Oliver Lake and video. He is also developing “Where's Marilyn?," a piece which delves into his experiences growing up in a small town that supported one of the largest state psychiatric facilities for over 100 years, and explores themes of memory, community, and the politics of mental healthcare.

Charlie Burnham - violin; John Carlson - trumpets; Rob Reddy - soprano/alto saxophones; James Brandon Lewis - tenor saxophone; Curtis Fowlkes - trombone; Brandon Ross - guitars; Dom Richards - double bass; Pheeroan akLaff - drums

Presented by Public Records.

This is a 21+ event.

Line up

Doors open
9:00 PM
11:00 PM